Institute of Applied Powder Metallurgy and Ceramics at RWTH Aachen e. V.

The IAPK

Where theory meets practice:
the IAPK Institute.

Who are we? We are a team of highly qualified scientific and technical personnel who are passionately committed to the development and application of powder metallurgy and ceramic materials and components.

We carry out R&D, teach students and provide consulting services in these and related fields. As experts in the realm of testing technologies and damage analysis, we also work to solve problems brought to us directly by industry leaders and end users. Our activities are fostered even further by the alliance we form together with the Institute for Materials Applications in Mechanical Engineering (IWM) at RWTH Aachen University.

Knowledge transfer and networking

The IAPK team operates at the interface between scientific research and practical application. We maintain close ties to industry, ensure the rapid transfer of research findings and place great emphasis on networking. Indeed, we have found that this is the best way to foster advancements in all areas of powder metallurgy and ceramics, which is the ultimate purpose and goal of our institute and network. The IAPK works on a non-profit basis and is committed to promoting research, development and teaching as well as student education and training.

From powder to components:
our areas of expertise.

Our range of research, development and services encompasses all fields relating to powder metallurgical and ceramic material development and component manufacturing. This includes design and calculation, powder processing and shaping, consolidation via sintering processes, thermal processing and component testing. At the IAPK, we keep a watchful eye on the entire process chain.

»Design and simulation, powder processing and shaping, consolidation via sintering processes, thermal processing and component testing. At the IAPK, we keep a watchful eye on the entire process chain.«

Complex operating simulations

Our team places special emphasis on the joining techniques of ceramic structural components with metallic and other ceramic components. With the help of numerical simulations based on the Finite Element Method (FEM), we also generate lifetime predictions relating to specific operating conditions, whereby we validate the simulation of short- and long-term performance by means of mechanical experiments.

Our simulation models call for a multitude of mechanical and thermo-physical material data as well as application-specific test procedures, all of which require precisely the expertise the IAPK has to offer.

»Our range of research, development and services encompasses all fields relating to powder metallurgical and ceramic material development and component manufacturing.«

State of the art:
our technical equipment.

Whether for the purpose of performing research, fostering development or providing services, the IAPK offers permanent access to the state-of-the-art technical equipment of our institute alliance (IAPK and IWM).

For example, for powder-metallurgical technology processes, we have various uniaxial presses, a cold isostatic press (CIP), a hot isostatic press (HIP), a unit for field assisted sintering (FAST), Laser powder bed fusion (LPBF) machine and numerous other sintering furnaces. In our mechanical test laboratory, we have roughly 40 test rigs for the characterization of fatigue strength, as well as 25 creep test stands and various other testing machines.

Light and scanning electron microscopy as well as a thermo-physical laboratory and X-ray diffractometry make it possible for us to characterise metallic and ceramic materials using modern test methods.

  • Various light microscopes
  • Scanning electron microscopy. Equipment: Jeol JSM 6400 with a BE detector
  • Energy dispersive X-ray microanalysis (EDX). Equipment: Genesis 4000 from the line of EDAX Si(Li) detector
  • Image analysis
  • Mercury intrusion
  • Micro hardness measurement
  • X-ray diffractometer
  • Laser granulometer for determining particle size
  • 22 single-sample creep testing machines, maximum load: 12 kN, maximum temperature: 1000 ° C
  • Servo-hydraulic universal testing machine MTS 810, Fmax: 100 kN, Tmax: 1000 ° C, Maximum haul-off speed: 500 mm / s
  • high speed testing machine Zwick HTM 5020, Fmax = 50 kN; Tmax = 1000 ° C, maximum haul-off speed: 20 m / s
  • Two servohydraulic testing machines Instron, Fmax = 50 kN; Tmax = 1200 ° C
  • Schenck-Trebel electro-mechanical universal testing machine, type RMC 100, Fmax = 100 kN; Tmax = 1000 ° C, Max. Haul-off speed: 100 mm / min
  • Universal testing machines for quasi-static loading at temperatures up to 1000 ° C
  • Airflow mill
  • Stirring ball mill
  • Attritor mill
  • Vibration mill, Retsch, with Al2O3 and WC grinding beaker
  • Ball mills
  • Rotational viscometer, Rheolab MC 10, computer-controlled (Physica)
  • Uniaxial presses (up to 6t)
  • Cold isostatic press (EPSI) up to 4000 bar
  • Hot isostatic press
  • LPBF machine (SLM Realizer 100)
  • HT chamber furnace Naber HT 1000/17 up to 1750 ° C, furnace chamber 1000x1000x1000mm³ (max 1800 ° C, 1000 l)
  • Vacuum inert gas furnace IBV (max 2200 ° C, N2, Ar)
  • Corrosion tube furnace Ceram Aix, (max 1550 ° C, N2, O2, H2, etc.)
  • LFA 427 (laser flash analysis)
  • DSC 404 Pegasus (differential scanning calorimetry)
  • E module test bench
  • DIL 805A / D / T (quenching and forming dilatometry)
  • DIL 402C (dilatometry)

From IPAK to IAPK:
the history of our institute.

Originally founded in March 1987 as the Institute of Ceramic Processes and Application Engineering (IPAK), we started off as an institute affiliated with the Institute for Ceramic Components in Mechanical Engineering (IKKM). Exactly four years later, in March 1991, we became an institute affiliated with the RWTH Aachen University by means of a mutually beneficial cooperation agreement. Professor H.R. Maier functioned as head of the IPAK until 2006. In 2008, after the merger of the IKKM with the Institute for Materials Science (IWK), which created the Institute for Materials Applications in Mechanical Engineering (IWM), the IPAK came under the leadership of Professor Christoph Broeckmann.

This merger also brought with it an expansion of our areas of expertise. Until then, the IPAK had focused entirely on ceramic-related issues, but now we extended our activities to include the field of powder metallurgy. In order to draw attention to this new focus among the general public, we changed our name in 2014 and have since been known as the IAPK – Institute of Applied Powder Metallurgy and Ceramics.

1987

The IPAK is founded as an institute affiliated with the IKKM and with Professor H. R. Maier as director

1991

Recognition of the IPAK as an institute affiliated with RWTH Aachen

2006

Fusion of the IKKM and the IWK to form the IWM

2008

Professor Christoph Broeckmann becomes director of the new IPAK/ IWM institute alliance

2014

The IPAK is renamed IAPK – to emphasise the institute’s expanded areas of expertise

What we stand for:
our values and goals.

The goal the IAPK is to make significant contributions to advancements in the realm of powder metallurgy and to carry out cutting-edge research in the mechanical behaviour of powder-technological materials and components. Our work is driven by our shared curiosity and a deep passion for knowledge. We are always pushing boundaries, and we enjoy leaving well-trodden paths to pursue new and innovative ideas.

»Our work is driven by our shared curiosity and a deep passion for knowledge.«

When it comes to new fields of research, we examine primarily the opportunities, but also calculate the risks. Of course, we adhere at all times to the principles of first-rate scientific practice and work lege artis”.

We document all of our research findings and regularly subject them to scrutiny. We maintain a policy of strict honesty with regard to contributions from partners and competitors, and we take consistent steps to prevent scientific misconduct.

Teamwork guarantees our success

We are highly aware that our motivated and highly qualified staff is our most valuable resource. In order to be able to make their own unique contributions to the positive development of our institute, we encourage each member of our staff to think freely and independently and to work with an entrepreneurial spirit.

We use key figures as a tool for performance-oriented leadership. We also work both internally and externally in a customer-oriented manner and regularly involve suppliers in the ongoing improvement of our activities.

With passion and expertise:
our team.

Day after day, the team of highly qualified scientists and technical staff at the IAPK work with a great deal of passion and commitment on the development and application of powder-metallurgical and ceramic components. Find out more about our team!

Careers at the IAPK.

There are no positions open at the moment.

Contact partners:
Institute of Applied
Powder Metallurgy and Ceramics
at RWTH Aachen e. V.

Dr.-Ing. Anke Kaletsch
Augustinerbach 4
52062 Aachen

T: +49 (0)241 / 809 55 34
info@iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Christoph Broeckmann

Director

+49 241 80 96189 c.broeckmann@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Dr.-Ing.
Anke Kaletsch

Deputy Director

+49 241 80 96268 a.kaletsch@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Nilüfer Cevirgen
Administrative assistant

+49 241 80 95315 n.cevirgen@
iwm.rwth-aachen.de

Jasmin Ferfer
Administrative assistant

+49 241 80 95534 j.ferfer@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Alexander Bezold, Dipl.-Ing.

+49 241 80 96513 a.bezold@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Yuanbin Deng, M.Sc.

+49 241 80 99545 y.deng@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Sofia Fries, M. Sc

+49 241 80 98351 s.fries@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Christian Gebhardt, M.Sc.

+49 241 80 99537 c.gebhardt@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Simone Herzog, M. Sc.

+49 241 80 96514 s.herzog@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Thomas Janitzky, Dr.-Ing.

+49 241 80 95333 t.janitzky@
iwm.rwth-aachen.de

Ali Rajaei, M.Sc.

+49 241 80 99544 a.rajaei@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Christoph Ripplinger, M. Sc.

+49 241 80 99535 c.ripplinger@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Donat Rudenskiy,M. Sc.

+49 241 80 99536

d.rudenskiy@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Robert Mager
Director of the Technical Center (Technikum)

+49 241 80 97964 r.mager@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Roman Ganzek

+49 241 80 95334 r.ganzek@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Vanessa Gebhardt

+49 241 80 90615 v.gebhardt@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Malte Schmachtenberg

+49 241 80 99530 m.schmachtenberg@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Nicola Mager

+49 241 80 95534 n.mager
@iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr.-Ing.
Horst R. Maier

+49 241 80 96376 hrmaier@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Institut für Anwendungstechnik Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik an der RWTH Aachen e.V.

Das IAPK

Schnittstelle zur Praxis:
unser Institut.

Wer wir sind? Ein Team aus hochqualifizierten wissenschaftlichen und technischen Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen, das sich mit Leidenschaft der Entwicklung und Anwendung pulvermetallurgischer und keramischer Werkstoffe und Bauteile verschrieben hat.

Auf diesen Gebieten forschen, lehren und beraten wir. Und als Dienstleister für Prüftechnik und Schadenskunde erforschen und lösen wir Probleme, die uns von Industrie und Anwendern angetragen werden. Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Werkstoffanwendungen im Maschinenbau (IWM) der RWTH Aachen University bilden wir einen Institutsverbund.

Wissenstransfer und Vernetzung

Am IAPK verstehen wir uns als Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis. Wir pflegen enge Verbindungen zur Industrie, sorgen für einen schnellen Transfer unserer Forschungsergebnisse und setzen stark auf Vernetzung. Denn das ist der beste Weg, Entwicklungen in allen Bereichen der Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik voranzutreiben. Das ist unser Ziel – und der Zweck unseres Vereins. Denn das IAPK arbeitet gemeinnützig und ist der Förderung von Forschung, Entwicklung und Lehre sowie der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Studierenden verpflichtet.

Vom Pulver zum Bauteil:
unser Themenspektrum.

Unser Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Dienstleistungsspektrum umspannt sämtliche Bereiche der pulvermetallurgischen und keramischen Werkstoffentwicklung und Bauteilherstellung: Konstruktion und Berechnung, Pulveraufbereitung und Formgebung, Konsolidierung durch Sinterprozesse, Wärmebehandlung und Bauteilprüfung. Am IAPK behalten wir die ganze Prozesskette im Blick.

»Konstruktion und Berechnung, Pulveraufbereitung und Formgebung, Konsolidierung durch Sinterprozesse, Wärmebehandlung und Bauteilprüfung. Am IAPK behalten wir die gesamte Prozesskette im Blick.«

Komplexe Betriebssimulationen

Besonderes Augenmerk legen wir auf die Fügetechnik keramischer Strukturkomponenten mit metallischen Bauteilen oder anderen keramischen Komponenten. Mit Hilfe numerischer Simulation leisten wir außerdem auf Basis der Finiten Elemente Methode (FEM) Lebensdauervoraussagen unter spezifischen Betriebsbedingungen, wobei wir die Simulation von Kurz- und Langzeitverhalten durch mechanische Versuche validieren.

Für die Simulationsmodelle braucht es eine Vielzahl mechanischer und thermophysikalischer Werkstoffkennwerte sowie anwendungsspezifischer Prüfverfahren, für die wir am IAPK die notwendige Kompetenz besitzen.

»Unser Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Dienstleistungsspektrum umspannt sämtliche Bereiche der pulvermetallurgischen und keramischen Werkstoffentwicklung und Bauteilherstellung.«

Auf modernstem Stand:
unsere Ausstattung.

Ob Forschung, Entwicklung oder Dienstleistung: Am IAPK haben wir jederzeit Zugriff auf die hochmoderne technische Ausstattung unseres Institutsverbundes (IAPK und IWM).

So stehen uns für pulvertechnologische Prozesse diverse Uniaxialpressen, eine kaltisostatische Presse (CIP), eine heißisostatische Presse (HIP), eine Anlage zum feldunterstützten Sintern (FAST), eine Anlage zur generativen Herstellung von Proben und kleinen Bauteilen (SLM) und zahlreiche weitere Sinteröfen zur Verfügung. In unserem mechanischen Prüflabor betreiben wir ca. 40 Prüfstände zur Charakterisierung der Schwingfestigkeit, 25 Kriechprüfstände und diverse weitere Prüfmaschinen.

Licht- und Rasterelektronenmikroskopie sowie ein thermophysikalisches Labor und die Röntgendiffraktometrie erlauben die Charakterisierung von metallischen und keramischen Werkstoffen mit modernen Prüfverfahren.

  • Diverse Lichtmikroskope
  • Rasterelektronenmikroskopie, Gerät: Jeol JSM 6400 mit BE-Detector
  • Energiedispersive Röntgenmikroanalyse (EDX), Gerät: Genesis 4000 der Fa. Edax Si(Li)-Detektor, Messung auch leichter Elemente bis B, qualitative, quantitative standardlose Analyse, qualitative und quantitative digitale
  • Bildanalyse
  • Quecksilberdruckporosimetrie
  • Mikrohärtemessung
  • Röntgendiffraktometer
  • Lasergranulometer zur Partikelgrößenbestimmung
  • Luftstrahlmühle
  • Rührwerkskugelmühle
  • Attritor Mühle
  • Schwingmühle, Retsch, Al2O3- und WC- Mahlbecher
  • Kugelmühlen
  • Rotationsviskosimeter, Rheolab MC 10, rechnergesteuert (Physica)
  • Uniaxialpressen (bis 6t)
  • Kaltisostatische Presse (EPSI) bis 4000 bar
  • Heißisostatische Presse
  • Spark Plasma Sinteranlage (FCT Systeme GmbH)
  • HT-Kammerofen Naber HT 1000/17 bis 1750°C, Ofenraum 1000x1000x1000mm³
    (max. 1800 °C, 1000 l)
  • Vakuum-Schutzgasofen IBV (max. 2200 °C, N2, Ar)
  • Korrosionsröhrenofen Ceram Aix, (max. 1550 °C, N2, O2, H2, etc.)
  • LFA 427 (Laser-Flash-Analyse)
  • DSC 404 Pegasus (Dynamische Differenzkalorimetrie)
  • E-Modulprüfstand
  • DIL 805A/D/T (Abschreck- und Umformdilatometrie)
  • DIL 402C (Dilatometrie)
  • 22 Einzelprobenkriechprüfmaschinen, Maximallast: 12 kN, Maximaltemperatur: 1000°C
  • Servohydraulische Universalprüfmaschine MTS 810, Fmax: 100 kN, Tmax: 1000°C, Maximale Abzugsgeschwindigkeit: 500 mm/s
  • Hochgeschwindigkeitsprüfmaschine Zwick HTM 5020, Fmax = 50 kN; Tmax= 1000°C, Maximale Abzugsgeschwindigkeit: 20 m/s
  • Zwei servohydraulische Prüfmaschinen Instron, Fmax = 50 kN; Tmax = 1200°C
  • Elektromechanische Universalprüfmaschine Schenck-Trebel, Bauart RMC 100, Fmax = 100 kN; Tmax = 1000°C, Max. Abzugsgeschwindigkeit: 100 mm/min
  • Universal-Prüfmaschinen für quasi-statische Belastung bei Temperaturen bis 1000°C

Vom IPAK zum IAPK:
unsere Geschichte.

Im März 1987 als Institut für Prozess- und Anwendungstechnik Keramik – kurz IPAK gegründet – waren wir damals noch ein An-Institut des Instituts für Keramische Komponenten im Maschinenbau (IKKM). Genau vier Jahre später, im März 1991 erfolgte die Anerkennung als An-Institut durch die RWTH Aachen University mit entsprechendem Kooperationsvertrag. Bis 2006 leitete Professor H.R. Maier das IPAK. Mit der Fusion des IKKM mit dem Institut für Werkstoffkunde (IWK) zum Institut für Werkstoffanwendungen im Maschinenbau (IWM) ging das IPAK 2008 in die Leitung von Professor Christoph Broeckmann über.

Mit dieser Fusion war auch eine Erweiterung unseres Themenspektrums verbunden. Hatte sich das IPAK bis dahin nur mit rein keramischen Fragestellungen befasst, ergänzten wir unser Tätigkeitsfeld nun um den Bereich der Pulvermetallurgie. Um dies auch nach außen zu zeigen, änderten wir 2014 unseren Namen. Seitdem sind wir das IAPK – Institut für Anwendungstechnik Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik.

1987

Gründung des IPAK als An-Institut des IKKM unter der Leitung von Professor H. R. Maier

1991

Anerkennung des IPAKS als An-Institut der RWTH Aachen University

2006

Fusion des IKKM mit dem IWK zum IWM

2008

Professor Christoph Broeckmann wird Leiter des neuen Institutsverbunds IPAK/ IWM

2014

Umbenennung des IPAK in IAPK – zur Betonung des erweiterten Themenspektrums

Dafür stehen wir:
unsere Werte und Ziele.

Ziel unserer Arbeit am IAPK ist es, die Entwicklungen in der Pulvertechnologie voranzutreiben und das mechanische Verhalten von pulvertechnologischen Werkstoffen und Bauteilen zu erforschen. Neugier und Freude an Erkenntnis sind dabei unser wichtigster Antrieb. Bewusst beschreiten wir immer wieder Grenzen und verlassen, wo nötig und möglich, gern schon mal die etablierten Wege.

»Neugier und Freude an Erkenntnis sind unser wichtigster Antrieb.«

In neuen Forschungsfeldern sehen wir vor allem die Chancen – und kalkulieren die Risiken. Selbstverständlich halten wir uns an die „Grundsätze zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis“ und arbeiten „lege artis“.

Alle Forschungsresultate werden von uns dokumentiert und konsequent angezweifelt. Geht es um die Beiträge von Partnern und Konkurrenten, wahren wir strikte Ehrlichkeit und beugen wissenschaftlichem Fehlverhalten konsequent vor.

Das Team als Erfolgsgarantie

Bei alldem wissen wir, dass motivierte und hoch qualifizierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter unsere wertvollste Ressource sind. Damit sie ihren Beitrag zur positiven Entwicklung des Instituts leisten können, ermutigen wir sie zum freien, eigenverantwortlichen und unternehmerischen Denken.

Als Instrument der leistungsorientierten Führung setzen wir Kennzahlen ein. Wir arbeiten intern und extern kundenorientiert und beziehen Lieferanten bei der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung unserer Arbeit mit ein.

Mit Leidenschaft und Sachverstand:
unser Team.

Tag für Tag widmet sich am IAPK ein Team aus hochqualifizierten wissenschaftlichen und technischen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern mit viel Leidenschaft der Entwicklung und Anwendung pulvertechnologischer und keramischer Bauteile. Lernen Sie uns kennen!

Karriere am IAPK.

Momentan haben wir keine offenen Stellen zu besetzen.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin:
Institut für Anwendungstechnik
Pulvermetallurgie und Keramik
an der RWTH Aachen e. V.

Dr. Anke Kaletsch
Augustinerbach 4
52062 Aachen

T: +49 (0)241 / 809 55 34
info@iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Christoph Broeckmann

Institutsleitung

+49 241 80 96189 c.broeckmann@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Dr.-Ing.
Anke Kaletsch

Stellvertretende
Institutsleitung

+49 241 80 96268 a.kaletsch@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Nilüfer Bayaslan
Kauffrau für
Bürokommunikation

+49 241 80 95315 n.bayaslan@
iwm.rwth-aachen.de

Jasmin Pietsch
Kauffrau für
Bürokommunikation

+49 241 80 95534 j.pietsch@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Utku Ahmet Özden, M.Sc

+49 241 80 99537 u.oezden@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Thomas Janitzky, Dr.-Ing.

+49 241 80 95333 t.janitzky@
iwm.rwth-aachen.de

Stanley van Kempen, M.Sc.

+49 241 80 96516 s.vankempen@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Ali Rajaei, M.Sc.

+49 241 80 99544 a.rajaei@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Alexander Bezold, Dipl.-Ing.

+49 241 80 96513 a.bezold@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Robert Mager
Leiter Technikum

+49 241 80 97964 r.mager@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Roman Ganzek

+49 241 80 95334 r.ganzek@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Vanessa Derichs

+49 241 80 90615 v.derichs@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Sabine Fröhlich

+49 241 80 99528 s.froehlich@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Nicola Mager

+49 241 80 95534 n.mager
@iapk.rwth-aachen.de

Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr.-Ing.
Horst R. Maier

+49 241 80 96376 hrmaier@
iapk.rwth-aachen.de